Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

Cameron S.
Cameron S.Published on 12 Jan 2021Last updated on 11 Feb 2022

Published: 18 February 2022

This is Volvo's first electric SUV. It's quick, powerful, luxurious and very well thought out. I wasn't expecting a lot when reviewing this electric car. However, after this review, I think this might be one of the best EVs on sale under $100,000 here in Australia.


Published: 11 February 2022

This is it. Finally, in 2022 we have more competition than ever against the extremely popular Tesla Model 3. This is the Hyundai IONIQ 5 and it's potentially the best option below $100,000 here in Aus if you want a fast, comfortable and state-of-the-art EV. Take a tour of its features and see if its worth buying instead of opting for the car with a letter T on the bonnet.


Published: 1 February 2022

You need to sign another 5 year lease for a luxury sedan for work. You've already tried the likes of the Mercedes C Class, BMW 3 Series and Audi A4. Now, Jaguar is launched the most convincing case to drive something a little more exciting. It's the better looking, more powerful and still very luxurious sedan from the iconic British brand. It now comes with a 5 year warranty and a capped price service plan. Find out in this review if this is worth buying in 2022.


Published: 19 January 2022

The new Land Rover Discovery is more luxurious and more powerful than ever. However, there's another big, luxurious and powerful Land Rover called the Defender that's out on sale too. So, where does that put this 7-seater SUV in this crowded line-up? Is it worth buying over the cheaper Discovery Sport and instead of the larger and more rugged Defender? Find out in this review


Published: 10 January 2022

Overlanding has exploded in popularity over the past two years. The Subaru Outback has been the car of choice for many as an option to head into the wilderness in comfort. We got our hands on the updated Outback, and wanted to see what's changed and to see just how capable it is on the rough stuff.


Published: 20 December 2021

It's bigger than the Stonic and smaller than the new Sportage. The Kia Seltos AWD is the 'just right' flavour of small SUV offered from Kia. It's AWD, it's turbocharged and it's spacious. Is it a winning formula or are you better off grabbing the keys to something else?


Published: 09 December 2021

There's a new top-of-the-range model available in the Sorento line-up for 2022. It's the plug-in hybrid version of this popular 7-seater SUV. It's not a conventional hybrid like the Toyota Kluger Hybrid, but it's able to run purely off electric power for just over 60km of range. It's cheaper than a Volvo XC90 PHEV, but, is it worth going for the EV version of the Sorento?


Published: 03 December 2021

I really wasn't much of a fan of the last-gen MU-X being sold in 2021. It was very long in the tooth, and was in desperate need of an update. The 2022 Isuzu MU-X has coming in swinging against the current crop of competition. It's got the safety features, the comfort appointments, the styling and of course its renowned 4x4 capability. Just how good is it? Find out in this review.


Published: 22 November 2021

The 8-seater van market is ageing quick. There hasn't been a new release from the usual suspects for far too long. That's where the Hyundai STARIA comes in. It's everything you'd hope for in a people mover being sold today. Check out all its features, technology and see what makes this one of the best MPVs on sale today.


Published: 19 November 2021

Motortrend labelled the Genesis GV70 as SUV of the year. I certainly was blown away by the build quality, performance and refinement this luxury SUV offered. It's Genesis' best bet at winning over more buyers, but can this feature-packed mid-size SUV impress me more than its European rivals?


Published: 12 November 2021

It's the review I've been looking forward to since I started reviewing cars here at ProductReview.com.au. The i30N is back and it's better than ever. It's a hot hatch that'll conquer the track, make ridiculous sounds and it's an ideal grocery-getter. The big question is, should you buy it over cars like the Toyota GR Yaris, Golf GTi, Golf R or even a Ford Focus ST?


Published: 09 November 2021

The original Hyundai Tucson was a little on the conservative side for its past couple of generations. Now, Hyundai have thrown the feature book at its latest Tucson. Has this update given the Tucson its mojo to make it the better pick than the Toyota RAV4 or Mazda CX-5? Find out in this review.


Published: 05 November 2021

The Genesis G70 Sport packs an almighty performance car punch. It has a 3.3L twin-turbocharged V6, it's rear wheel drive and has plenty of creature comfort features. Against the cheaper Kia Stinger GT and the slightly more expensive BMW 340i XDrive, can it come out on top?


Published: 01 November 2021

The first generation G80 was pretty impressive. But now, Genesis are getting series with the new G80. It's sexy, it's powerful and it's chock-FULL of features. See why you maybe shouldn't dump a pile of cash on a Mercedes S Class, BMW 7 Series or even a Lexus LS and get this instead.


Published: 28 October 2021

The Kia Cerato is Korea's answer to the VW Golf. For the longest time, the Golf has been the obvious choice between the two. In 2021, that's changed. The updated Cerato GT packs an almighty punch with an affordable price, beefed up performance and an industry leading warranty.


Published: 26 October 2021

Time is one hell of a thing. It's the sole reason why we aspire to own brands like Mercedes and BMW as they've been able to prove themselves as luxury brands through the generations. The Genesis GV80 has landed in Australia and it's here to prove that if you take the leap of faith to a new brand, you'll be rewarded with one of the best luxury driving experiences of 2022.


Published: 22 October 2021

EV's are slowly becoming more affordable. If you're looking to jump into the next-generation of electric cars, you have a few options available to you. The Tesla Model 3 is the popular choice, but what if you want a long-term tried and tested brand name? Find out which sub-$60,000 EV takes our pick.


Published: 19 October 2021

I was very impressed with the all-new Kia Sorento...until the Hyundai Santa Fe Highlander came along. Personally, this is the more comfortable, more aggressively styled and more luxurious feeling family car I'd prefer to roll around in.


Published: 10 October 2021

My family drove around in a 2015 Range Rover Evoque for 5 years, which we absolutely enjoyed. There were some short-comings, so that's why I borrowed the 2021 Range Rover Evoque to see if its worth the upgrade. Find out what's changed, and answer the question of 'should you buy one'?


Published: 5 October 2021

2021 has seen big changes for the smallest Land Rover, find out what makes it one of the best models to choose from this British manufacturer.


Published: 26 September 2021

With an enormous 5.6L petrol V8 motor under the hood, is it worth saving $30,000 buying this latest generation Patrol over a top-trim Toyota Land Cruiser?


Published: 6 September 2021

It's the American sized family car from Hyundai that offers seating for up to 8-people. It's won plenty of hearts over in the US, so, can it convince enough people to spend over $80,000 on a Hyundai SUV? I think so. See why I believe this is one of the best family SUVs you can buy, in this Expert Review.


Published: 24 August 2021

This is one of the more sensible daily drivers you can buy today. However, I believe after my week with this recently updated sedan, that it’s a car for those shopping with their head, rather than their heart.


Published: 16 August 2021

It’s Hyundai’s cheapest and smallest car - hatchbacks are no longer the talk of the town. Instead, our insatiable hunger for SUVs has gone on for so long that now an SUV is the cheapest car you can buy from Hyundai today. Find out what makes this little SUV one of the most appealing ones out there, for a fair price.


Published: 11 August 2021

Not a fan of Tesla, but need an EV? The Kia Niro EV is one of the up and coming options on the Australian market if you're looking to buy an EV from a traditional car brand. It has a 7 year warranty, it's in the shape of an SUV and it has over 400km of range. Find out if it's worth spending over $70,000 for Kia's first EV.


Published: 23 July 2021

Sport medium-sized sedans come at a heafty cost now, as SUVs are now the priority for a lot of manufacturers. Lucky for us, Hyundai have brought out the all-new Sonata, in a powerful, luxurious and capable N Line trim. See why the Sonata N Line is possibly the best bang for your buck as a performance-orientated sedan.


Published: 16 July 2021

This is Kia's smallest SUV it offers. It's marketing materials suggest it's 'Insta-worthy'. It's a small SUV that's aimed at a younger demographic - so, does it live up to the hype as an ideal first car or as an inner-city daily driver? Or, is should you just buy a traditional hatchback?


Published: 4 August 2021

Hyundai offers both a full ‘N’ performance i30, and also this, the i30 N Line. It takes a few sporty cues both superficially and under the bonnet to try and provide a cost-effective but fun-to-drive ‘warm hatch’ - not quite a full ‘hot hatch'.


Published: 14 July 2021

This is the P400 SE trim of Jaguar’s larger SUV, and it’s now equipped with Jaguar Land Rover’s turbocharged inline six cylinder motor. It’s luxurious, it’s powerful, it has space, but does it have Jaguar’s requirements of having grace and pace?


Published: 25 June 2021

The Nissan Navara is a household name in many Australian households. For 2021, the Navara has received a refresh that really brings out plenty of American influence in both design and overall comfort. Has this redesign given the Navara the edge it needs to move closer to becoming one of the top 3 best selling utes in the country?


Published: 25 June 2021

Isuzu has a long standing history in the truck and ute market, but it more recently cracked the SUV market with a D-MAX derived 7-seater. This 4x4 SUV is built on the same chassis, but is engineered to make it more family-oriented. Of course, the MU-X is built with off-roading in mind, as it retains and slightly improves the four wheel drive capability of the ute it's based off.


Published: 24 June 2021

Lexus, a relatively young brand with a stereotype for attracting older buyers, entered the two door market in the mid 2010s with the RC. The RC is unique for its attention to detail and in nailing the basics of what a luxury car should be.


Published: 24 June 2021

This is the range-topping petrol-powered Kona...for now. Until Hyundai’s first performance SUV, the Kona N, lands on Aussie shores sometime in the very near future; the Kona N-Line is the most powerful Kona you can buy today.


Published: 10 June 2021

Ever since the SUV craze took over, the mini-van segment has received less love and attention from both buyers and manufacturers. Cameron, explains how Kia has been able to shift the Carnival from the budget alternative, to the segement topping selection for those looking for luxury, space and safety.


Published: 09 June 2021

The Kia Sorento has received critical acclaim not just in Australia, but around the world. Cameron tests this 7-seater both on and off-road, and finds out what makes this family SUV the class leader in this segment.


Published: 12 May 2021

Since the Stinger received a much needed face-lift, it's finally got the full power behind it's ability to punch up-market. This is the cheapest way to get yourself a Stinger with a twin-turbo V6, producing 274kW and 510Nm. There's a bi-modal exhaust, launch control...to be short, it's possibly the best sports-sedan you can buy for under $100,000.


Published: 05 May 2021

According to our car expert, this is the best micro-car you can buy today. It's the ideal car for the inner-city, as the Land Rover Defender is the ideal car for heading off-road. There's space, technology and (most importantly) plenty of comfort features.


Published: 23 April 2021

Cameron gets his hands on the last of the 2nd generation Nissan Qashqai's. This one is the 'Midnight Edition' which adds a few aesthetic changes to make this Qashqai a little more pleasing to the eye.


Published: 08 April 2021

This is the most expensive Juke you can buy. Is it worth going for the top of the range?


Published: 31 March 2021

The base model D-MAX has plenty to offer. We gave the D-MAX SX a full write-up and put everything you need to see on video so you can decide if this 4x2 ute is right for you.


Published: 24 March 2021

Possibly the class leader in luxury off-roaders. The new Defender represents the pinnicle of heading off the beaten path. We test to see if the 2021 Defender can live up to the legacy the old one built.


Published: 12 March 2021

The Juke kicked off the compact SUV trend. We find out whether the all new Juke can compete in an over-crowded market of front-wheel drive, city focused family haulers.


Published: 8 March 2021

Australia's best selling EV has been tested here at ProductReview.com.au. We find out what features you get, what range you can acheive and what the most iconic electric car company can deliver in the performance department.


Published: 22 February 2021

Check out our in-depth expert review of the best Isuzu has to offer; the 2021 D-MAX X-Terrain. Our article and accompanying video take you through everything you need to know about one of Australia's most popular 4x4 utes.


Published: 22 January 2021

Is it a real AMG? We go in-depth on what makes up the new A35 AMG, how fast it goes, and if it really deserves the coveted three letter badge on its hatch.


Published: 12 January 2021

The hottest hatch of 2021. We get hands on with the instant cult-classic GR Yaris. This truly is where rally cars meet daily driver.